Memorials and Goals

goals.jpg

Earlier this year, the Zuri Team, empowered by Ingressive for Good launched a beginner friendly software development training/internship. I enrolled for the python track, learnt Django programming and co-built a capstone project - Hoardr, a mobile app for dispensing away with hoarded materials. It exposed me to working in a team and the kind of issues that springs up when many engineers contribute to the same repository.

I've gone on to consolidate on the skills gained by building several projects (involving API development and template rendering) with two of them currently live. Tech Hub, a social media web app and Food Palace, a food delivery web app with a dashboard backdoor that can only be accessed by using Admin or AdminI (username) and foodpalace (password) for the login details.

Although I still have issues with media display on heroku (the free tier plan), my latest projects are multiple folds better than the first web app, Crude Logger, a blog site I deployed during the course of the training.

For HNGi8, an internship program involving elimination via tasks, the comfortable thing would have been to go for the same Django right? But I feel myself been challenged to go for Golang, one which my experiences with it are limited to knowledge of the sytax an GO-JWT, an app I developed consisting of different API endpoints for authentication using jwt module.

Since HNG is more of assigning tasks than training, I've outlined series of courses/projects I will push myself to finish in 5 weeks.

Some of my expectations/goals for this internship are:

  • networking to have a tech community we can share resources and grow together post HNG

  • becoming comfortable programming in Golang just like I am in Python

  • getting opportunities to apply for a full time juinior backend role

  • becoming better when it comes to working in a team.

Incase you want to get into programming, you can check out some of the resources that have helped me so far in my journey:

And if design is your passion, I believe Figma 2021 Crash Course will be of a great help.